It is important to keep a clean inbox to safeguard sensitive information (similar to a paper shredder), to improve your personal organization, and to avoid exceeding your account's storage limit. This guide will show you how to keep your email inbox clean, secure, and under the storage limit by deleting or archiving emails.
While there are a few different versions of Outlook being used in our organization, this guide will focus on the website version of Outlook. The website version of Outlook is directly connected to our email server, so any changes made here will be instantaneous and synchronize with all other versions of Outlook you may be using.
Deleting Emails
- Navigate to https://outlook.office.com and sign in using your OneLogin account information (email address and password).
- Click on your "Inbox" folder (or other folders in your account) and start going through and picking out what emails are no longer needed. You may need to toggle the navigation pane by clicking the three horizontal lines at the top left of the page:
- Hover over the email you wish to delete and click on the trash can icon:
- Once you have finished deleting the emails, click on the "Deleted Items" folder on the left side of your screen:
- Right click (or tap and hold on a touch screen) the "Deleted Items" folder and then click on "Empty Folder"
- Click on "Delete all" if you wish to proceed with deleting all emails in the "Deleted Items" folder.
- The "Deleted Inbox" folder should now be empty. You have successfully removed the deleted emails from your email account.
-
If you have a folder that contains only emails you no longer need in your inbox, you can right click (or tap and hold on a touch screen) the folder and click "Empty Folder". This will send all emails in that folder to the "Deleted Items" folder. You will just need to then empty the "Deleted Items" folder.
-
If you find an email that you wish to keep but would still like to save space in your account, you can save the email as an offline file on your device. Simply right click (or tap and hold on a touch screen) the email you want to save and click "Save as":
The email will then be saved to your device. You will be free to delete the email from your inbox.
Viewing Your Email Account Storage
- Click on the Gear icon in the top right of your screen:
- Click on "General" on the left side of the screen and then click "Storage" on the right side:
- This will show you how much storage you are using and what folders in your email account are taking up the most of it. Please keep in mind that the therapist storage limit is 2GB.
If you need support or have questions about cleaning up your email inbox, please reach out to itsupport@empowerme.com to open a ticket.